Happy (belated!) Thanksgiving

We are celebrating celebrated thanksgiving with my family at Wrightsville Beach NC. It is beautiful even in November. Jack liked the sand at first but then decided that it was wet and icky and cold. This was my first gluten free thanksgiving. I made gravy and stuffing and yummy cupcakes and blondies (chocolate chip bars according to my sister). It was a lot of effort but definitely worth every minute. No nasty side effects from eating wheat. Thanks to Gluten free girl I had all the recipes for it.

Although I have so much to be grateful for this year (dear Friends, supportive and loving family, a wonderful husband and son, a warm house, abundant food, a loving God, etc. etc.) I must admit that I have been a little a lot sad lately as a result of the emotional effort of the last few months of trying for baby Illian #2. Two and a half months of daily temperature taking, cooking and drinking herbs and weekly acupuncture has taken its toll. I am just tired. Tired of having to think about having another baby. Tired of having to jump through hoops to accomplish what comes “naturally” to most people. Don’t get me wrong —I am so grateful every day for Jack.

img_0622

But opening up my heart again to another little one is hard. It seems that it would be easier not to try again. But we are. I am trying to remind my self that God doesn’t love me less and that I haven’t done anything to deserve this. I know that my suffering may seem small to some. In the scheme of what life can throw at you– it isn’t the “worst” that could happen. But it is hard.

Thank you for all of your support to me during times of stress and hardship. How do you cope when you are feeling down as a result of chronic circumstances beyond your control?

3 responses to “Happy (belated!) Thanksgiving

  1. susan mccormick

    I love you and am sorry you are feeling badly. Just read Danny Dantzler’s blog for today Dec. 9.
    He is experiencing chronic circumstances beyond his control. Hope his thoughts are helpful.
    Much love , Mom

  2. Faith (the other one)

    I am sorry you are feeling bad Catherine! It makes me sad to read how hard this past few months has been for you. Please let me know how I can be a better support. I am here for you sweet girl! I love you tons.

  3. I am thinking of you SO much. Like Faith, it makes me sad to know how hard this is.

    For me, focusing on the present and bringing myself back to gratitude help the most. Taking the best care of myself that I can. Taking breaks when I need them. Continuing to find new things to be excited about so that I can focus on other things. Giving myself permission to fully feel the emotions I am feeling.

    Big giant hugs!

Leave a Reply

