“Wow!”

We spent the better part of the morning organizing four drawers in my home office.  It was great to get organized but the highlight was probably the gusto Jack exhibited for every little thing I pulled out of the drawer.  “Wow!” Jack said to the pink paperclip, the unidentifiable metal object, the rubber band, the pad of paper.  Children really are amazing in their wonder at the little things.

I also stumbled across some great organizing websites–

they are

Simple Mom

and

Organizing your Way

Because I’m mostly at home now, I’ve realized that part of what I want to do is learn to run our house well.  To have the finances, food, cleanliness, etc. run well.  That is almost part of my “job”  I’m not getting paid for it– but Matt would have to pay someone a lot to do everything I’m doing!  That being said- the “well” part.  I want to view this with the same desire for excellence that I did college, grad school, teaching, my other outside pursuits.  No, I don’t want to spend all day stenciling designs on cookies– but I do want our house to run smoothly– to have a system for doing things– Its something I’m still learning because it doesn’t come naturally for me to be organized.  Its something I have to work really hard at.

Hence taking half the morning to go through four drawers.  Although my little helper– though cute– didin’t provide much in the way of actual help although he did provide a lot of moral support.

One response to ““Wow!”

  1. Thanks so much for linking to Organizing Your Way. Your approach to running a home is a lot like mine…I don’t need to be Susie Homemaker, but I do want to devote the same attention and focus to it that I do to other areas of my life. It sounds like you’re off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

